A24, Neon and Honey Boy Lead Noms Film Independent Spirit Awards

Produced by Film Independent, their annual Spirit Awards Nominations were announced today at The Line in Los Angeles by Film Independent President Josh Welsh joined by Joker’s Zazie Beetz and Russian Doll’s Natasha Lyonne honoring artist-driven films and the greatest achievements of independent filmmakers.

Best Feature Nominees – A Hidden Life, Clemency, The Farewell, Marriage Story and Uncut Gems

Best First Feature Nominees – Booksmart, The Climb, Diane, The Last Black Man in San Francisco, The Mustang and See You Yesterday

John Cassavetes Award Nominees – Burning Cane, Colewell, Give Me Liberty, Premature, Wild Nights with Emily

Best Director Nominees -Robert Eggers/TheLighthouse, Alma Har’el/HoneyBoy, Julius Onah/Luce, Benny Safdie & Josh Safdie/ Uncut Gems, Lorene Scafaria/Hustlers

Best First Screenplay Nominees – Noah Baumbach/Marriage Story, Jason Bogue & Shawn Snyder/To Dust, Ronald Bronstein, Benny Safdie and Josh Safdie/ Uncut Gems, Chinonye Chukwu/Clemency and Tarrel Alvin McRanney/High Flying Bird

Best Cinematography Nominees – Todd Banhazl/Hustlers, Hatin Blaschke/The Lighthouse, Natasha Braier/Honey Boy and Pawel Pogorzelski/Midsommar

Best Editing Nominees – Julie Beziau/The Third Wife, Ronald Bronstein and Benny Safdie/Uncut Gems, Tyler L. Cook/Sword of Trust, Louise Gotd/The Lighthouse and Kirill Mikhanovsky/ Give Me Liberty

Best Male Lead Nominees – Chris Gallust/Give Me Liberty, Kelvin Harrison, Jr./LUCE, Robert Pattinson/The Lighthouse, Adam Sandler/Uncut Gems and Matthias Schoenarts/The Mustang

Best Female Lead Nominees – Karen Allen/Colewell, Hong Chau/Driveways, Elisabeth Moss/Her Smell, Mary Jay Place/Diane, Alfre Woodard/Clemency and Renee Zellweger/Judy

Best Supporting Male Nominees – Willem Dafoe/ The Lighthouse, Noah Jupe/HoneyBoy, Shia LaBeouf/HoneyBoy, Jonathan Majors/The Last Black Man in San Francisco and Wendell Pierce/Burning Cane

Best Supporting Female Nominees – Jennifer Lopez/Hustlers, Taylor Russell/Waves, Octavia Spencer/Luce, Zhao Shuzen/The Farewell and Lauren ‘Lili’ Spencer/Give Me Liberty

Robert Altman Award – Marriage Story

Best International Film Nominees – Invisible Life (Brazil) Les Miserable (France), Parasite (South Korea), Portrait if a Lady on Fire (France) Retablo (Peru)

Best Documentary Nominees – American Factory, Apollo 11, Gor Sama, Honeyland and Island of the Hungry Ghosts

Bonnie Grant Award Nominees – – Marielle Heller, Lulu Wang and Kelly Reichardt

The Truer Than Fiction Award Nominees – Khalil Alkah (Black Mother), Davy Rothbart (17 Blocks), Nadia Shahib (Jaddoland) and Erick Stoli & Chase Whiteside (America)

Someone to Watch Award Nominees – Ash Mayfair The Third Wife), Joe Talbot (The Last Black Man in San Francisco) and Tashaad Ernesto Green (Premature)

Producers Award Nominees – Molly Asher, Krista Parris and Ryan Zacarias

Nominee Brunch and Grant winners will be announced on January 4, 2020 and the awards ceremony on February 8, 2020. The Spirit Awards is the primary fundraiser for Film Independent’s year-round programs.

I love, love love movies, watching them and discussing them...thus the birth of The Curvy Film Critic!!! If you missed my posts here you can also catch them at www.OnAirWithTonySweet.com and AAFCA.com. Be on the lookout for my film review new show on BHL Online - Black Tomatoes owned by E! Bews Correspondent Maria Menounos premiering June 2017. If you like what you read please shout me out via #thecurvycritic and as always, thanks for supporting a sista' and see you on the red carpet!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: