Call Me By Your Name Rules Spirit Award Nominations

This Morning, Film Independent announced nominations for the 2018 Film Independent Spirit Awards and revealed that director Ava DuVernay will be this year’s Honorary Chair.  Past Chairs include David Oyelowo, Jessica Chastain, Kerry Washington, Ang Lee and Martin Scorsese.

Film Independent President Josh Welsh presided the Pres confrerence held at the Jeremy Hotel in West Hollywood, wth actors Lily Collins and Tessa Thompson presenting the nominations.  Nominees for Best Feature included Call me By Your Name,The  Florida Project, Get Out, Lady Bird and The Rider.

Mudbound was selected to receive the Robert Altman Award, which is bestowed upon one film’s director, casting director and ensemble cast.  The Altman Award was created in 2008 in honor of legendary director Robert Altman, who was known for creating extraordinary ensemble casts.

Winners will be announced at the Spirit Awards on Saturday, March 3, 2018 and hosted by Nick Kroll and John Mulaney.  The show will broadcast live exclusively on IFC at 2pm PT/5pm ET.

Want to vote?  Join Film Indepent before December 7th at film

Leave a Reply